Buy one of my books and get a second one free!

Reviews

Escape from the Rock


TheRefEl 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Keeps you on the edge of your seat...

September 29th, 2018

This was a wonderful read. This author keeps the characters very real. He keeps the reader coming back for more. I found it very enjoyable to read This book. I’m looking forward to reading the rest of the series.


Country Rune 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Enjoyable!

March 29th, 2019

I quite enjoyed the adventure of Jack Beckett!


VIC 5.0 out of 5 Stars

After reading the first six books in the series...

December 7th, 2018

...I loved the accurate portrayal of mistakes made by the criminals. This is a fun series of adventures by a writer who knows how to keep the story racing along... Real cops and robbers and Beckett! I always read the series before jumping back to a review of the first book. Fun. Real. Engaging... Well done Baxter! Grab this!


Rick 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Good Man- Hard

December 28th, 2018

This book is a good read with lots of action. I’m looking forward to reading the rest of the series. A new hero.


Southern Belle 5.0 out of 5 Stars

My First Jack Beckett read

October 26th, 2018

LOVED, LOVED, LOVED THIS BOOK,


Sharon Bushnell 5.0 out of 5 Stars

This was an awesome debut novel

December 28th, 2018

This was an awesome debut novel. I loved the character of protagonist Jack Beckett and very much appreciated the crisp writing style of the author. My kind of writing. This story kept me turning the pages and I highly recommend this novel. Looking forward to reading future Jack Beckett mysteries.


Jeff Benham 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Just call him Beckett.

September 14th, 2018

New author for me, new character and lots of adventure. Jack Beckett (just Beckett please) does not like bullies. Never has and never will. Stronger people preying on weaker people makes him angry. Think of The Incredible Hulk. Mild mannered until angry. He is a former boxer and big enough to take care of them. There is a polygamy compound down in Utah that is not exactly what it seems. Wayne, the bully, is up to something far more illegal. When two sisters escape to get away from him, Wayne goes after them. When Kitty and Melissa's VW breaks down 100 miles from the compound, Beckett stops to help. Good place for an adventure to start. Wayne is wacko and if he finds the girls, he will no doubt kill them. Naturally he has half the police department on his payroll and lots of resources to track them down. There are still good people out there and Beckett gets help in unexpected places to shut Wayne and his operations down. Plenty of action and good times. I look forward to reading the rest of the series.


Mr. P 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Great Fun

August 1st, 2018

An older and wealthy ex boxer who travels around the country gets involved with a polygamist sect leader who is tracking down two sisters who left his compound. Very well written with a great cast of characters. This is a fun book to read. Lots of action with an international twist keeps you wanting more.


No Turning Back


Kindle Customer 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Great new series

January 20th, 2018

I liked the first book in this series and this second one is even better. This got my interest right away and never slowed down. Jack Beckett is a fascinating protagonist. I like that he has the resources to do what needs to be done, such as chartering the plane in this book. The overused comparison, "If you like Jack Reacher, you'll like _________, "is actually true in this instance. I'm eagerly looking forward to more of these books. I like the action, the adventure, the growing network of support characters, Beckett, and I guess there isn't anything I don't like about these books.


Sharon Harvey 4.0 out of 5 Stars

Page-turner

August 24th, 2018

This is the second book I have read that he wrote. I read books one and two of this series and read them both in one day. If it wasn't so late and I didn't have to get up so early I would read book three. These books are page turners and you don't quit until you have read the whole book


LORRAINE LANIER 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Just an ABSOLUTELY AMAZING READ!!

August 24th, 2018

Jack is back!! Jack is in California, after doing a job for a woman there, he is referred to a woman, named Mary. Mary's daughter Lee Ann has been taken from her school and is no where to be found! Jack as always can't turn Mary down, it's the kind of thing he is good at. It turns into a long drive toward the East Coast. Lost of action and a epic ending!!


Terry Conley 5.0 out of 5 Stars

A great book!

July 4th, 2018

This is the second book by Mr. Baxter that I’ve read in a few days. I really like his style. I love the fast pace and speed that the story moves at. Jack Beckett really reminds me of Jack Reacher. If you enjoy lots of action and adventure, read Mr. Baxter’s books.


John J. Rhodes 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Anxiously awaiting!

August 24th, 2018

I retired about 11 months ago and moved to the Pacific Coast of Mexico. Since then I’ve found myself with a lot more time to read. Since discovering the Jack Beckett series by D.G. Baxter, I’ve rediscovered the fun and excitement of reading. I’ve read every book in the series and am anxiously awaiting the next installment.


Amazon Customer 5.0 out of 5 Stars

The characters!

June 29th, 2018

Jack Beckett is just a cool, calm character who just knows what to do at the right time. Just makes you feel like you’re there in the story with him. I thoroughly enjoy his books.


Kenneth H Button 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Another fast read

September 8th, 2018

Another good read. Book 2 was like the first good characters. some came over from escape from the rock book 1. Now on to book 3


Linda Susan Fowler 5.0 out of 5 Stars

A Jack Beckett Book

April 17th, 2019

A very nice book with great characters. I like DG Baxter’s style and his characters have depth. Nice story and colorful characters.


Devil's Gate


Amazon Customer 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Seems to get better with each book.

October 22nd, 2018

Enjoy the action, Beckett is relentless when he gets involved in helping someone. The spelling and grammar needs attention, but I self correct as I read so no real problem for me.


Sharon Harvey 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Good Reading

August 25th, 2018

This series of books should be made into a TV series. When you pick up the book to read you can't put it down until you finish it.Good job!!


Jeff Benham 5.0 out of 5 Stars

 

September 22nd, 2018

Since Jack is driving through Wyoming anyway, he agrees to do a favor for a friend. Trouble follows him like a bad debt and he ends up getting arrested by Deputy Sheriff Janie Sherman because the cops are looking for a tall guy driving an old car. It doesn't take long to clear Beckett, but Casper is a small town and besides, he is attracted to Janie. It isn't a simple crime that needs solving. People have turned up dead and high level bad guys are involved. If you are familiar with this series, this book has all the action you have come to expect. Terrific read!


karen 4.0 out of 5 Stars

Devil's Gate.

May 1st, 2018

Nicely developed plot with interesting twists and good character development. Great read and I will recommend to others. I look forward to reading more from this author.


Kindle Customer 4.0 out of 5 Stars

Good book

June 25th, 2018

I like the protagonist, the stories are interesting and fast moving. I always look forward to the next book. I appreciate that the books are not cliffhangers and you don't have to have read the ones before to understand what is going on. Of course once you read one I think you'll want to read them all.


The Bomber


Linda Susan Fowler 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Good read

April 28th, 2019

This is the third book in the Jack Beckett series that I have read. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Great plot and characters.


Robert Gourley 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Great Story

April 15th, 2019

I really enjoyed the continuity of the book. Believable characters and fast paced tempo. Great read


Marlene King-Penny 4.0 out of 5 Stars

A very good read.

April 10th, 2019

What a fun ride the author takes us on. The protagonist is every woman’s dirty little secret, a true man’s man, and an advocate for the down trodden. Beckett is every bit as endearing a character as Spenser, Alex Delaware, or Jessy Stone...true good guys. As soon as one sits down in that comfy old chair with a well worn blanket and a cup of freshly brewed coffee...opens the latest book in this series...ah...one simply knows the next few hours will be filled with the good guys winning and the bad guys losing.


Jeff Benham 5.0 out of 5 Stars

This one starts with a bang!

September 26th, 2018

You waste no time finding out how this book gets it's name. Beckett is waiting for a friend and just as she is getting out of the cab, it explodes. So now it is personal and Jack is immediately involved. 30 miles south of Chicago is a wannabe anarchist group. The bomb was supposed to have been detonated at City Hall. Members of the group were recruited from all over the country, but not all were on board with killing innocent people. Beckett has to do a lot of traveling and following a lot of clues before ultimately ending up 30 miles south of Chicago. Very good read!


Terry Conley 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Really good book!

July 7th, 2018

Another great Jack Beckett adventure. Very fast paced with a great plot. I can’t wait for the next book to be released.


Karen 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Enjoyed the new Beckett novel

July 1st, 2018

Enough plot twists to make the storyline plausible. The characters are well developed. More background info on what prompted each member of the group to become anarchists would fatten the story.


Tom Vaeger 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Keep up the good work

June 29th, 2018

Once again a good book with a lot of action. I was excited when it came out a was not disappointed. Good job can’t wait for the next one.


Jane Sheraw 5.0 out of 5 Stars

D.G. Baxter has another winner!

June 29th, 2018

Jack Beckett is a man to be reckoned with, and when his friend is killed in a mysterious bombing, he rushes into action taking chances with his own safety. This fast moving book kept me intrigued and wondering what would happen next. There were many surprises as characters were not always who they seemed to be. Through various locations, characters second guess their own intentions and change the direction of the story. These twists and turns truly keep the reader involved.


Missing


Readerlin 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Likeable hero, good book.

June 29th, 2018

These Jack Beckett books are very good, getting better with each book. I like Beckett better than Reacher. The author is improving and I hope is able to continue the series. The action is good and keeps you engrossed. The books are somewhat short, but the author doesn't use dry filler to lengthen the book as many do these days. The books don't end on a cliffhanger, either, thankfully. There are a plethora of ads for books saying "if you like Reacher, you'll like . . . . ". These books are the only ones that I have read that actually live up to that. They aren't the quality of Reacher yet, but I see improvement in each one. The Beckett books are good, interesting, and entertaining.


Jeff Benham 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Anohter terrific Beckett adventure.

October 1st, 2018

If you are a fan of bullies getting their comeuppance, you are, no doubt, enjoying the Beckett series. There are often side bars where he helps someone in need and sends the thugs to the hospital. The main plot of this one is a bit different, however. This time the perp (Leonard) is not a professional killer. He is a schizophrenic who had a very abusive childhood. He was taken in by a couple that eventually killed the children. But a killer he is nonetheless. He thinks he needs a witness so he kidnaps O'Connor. Although she escapes, they still need to stop Leonard. Lots of action!


Lewis E. Wright Jr. 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Highly recommended!

October 1st, 2018

I truly enjoyed this one. Read it in two sessions. Best I've read in a while.


JC 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Great Read

October 1st, 2018

Love the hero, love the action, love the premise of the book.


Amazon Customer 5.0 out of 5 Stars

I love Jack Beckett

October 1st, 2018

Fast paced, interesting characters, a must read if you like thrillers.


Amy Jones 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Another great read

September 27th, 2018

this story will keep you engaged and wanting more. I read it in one sitting because I just couldn't put it down. I definitely recommend this book. Each book in this series just gets better and better. GREAT READ!!


Trouble in Mendocino


John J. Rhodes 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Great book!

July 24th, 2018

Another great adventure with Beckett by D.G. Baxter? I’ve read them all so far and am eagerly anticipating his next adventure.


Davidthea 5.0 out of 5 Stars

A solid read

July 20th, 2019

Beckett, O’Conner.... what a strong team. Although, this is book 6, it’s #8 for me. All solid reads. Book #9 in my queue to read. Thanks Mr. Baxter!


Marlene King-Penny 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Beckett wins and the bad guys lose

April 24th, 2019

Gosh, this book was fun. I believe that Beckett may have met a new kindred spirit in the Hammer character. I truly appreciate that the author has strong intelligent female characters. O’Conner is someone I’d split a clubhouse sandwich with over lunch. Sit back and enjoy the jaunts in Northern California and Reno, and Reno, and Reno...


Dr. Tom 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Page one had me hooked!

October 12th, 2018

Loved the title and what was inside this book even better. Each chapter read led to having to read the next and then the next. Before I knew it, I read the entire book!


Bridget 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Another Great Story!

October 12th, 2018

Another Great story. One of my favorite authors for action/adventure.


Karen 5.0 out of 5 Stars

The best yet!

October 6th, 2018

Once I started reading, I found it difficult to put down Trouble in Mendocino. The plot was well developed with plenty of surprises to make me want to keep reading. I'm already looking forward to the next novel. Really enjoyed the characters and hope to see them appear again.


seventybob 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Another exciting adventure for Beckett

October 1st, 2018

I have really enjoyed reading Beckett's adventures and Mendocino Sue is no exception. I like the pace of these stories. I like the unexpected that often happens. They are easy reads and yet full of adventure and suspense. Beckett is a good guy that can't help himself when he sees injustice of bullying. He is a "knight in shining armor" kind of guy. The romance angle and tension are there and just bubbling under the surface. Maybe one day? I look forward to many more stories from David Baxter as Beckett continues to defend the "little guy - or lady as the case may be."


Readerlin 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Not like Reacher, better than Reacher!

October 1st, 2018

This is the best Beckett yet! The books just keep getting better and better. A fast read, never drags, keeps your attention. Any one of the Beckett books can be read as a stand-alone without making you feel like you are missing important information. Beckett is an excellent protagonist. This book is definitely worth your time. Read ALL the Beckett books! You'll be glad you did.


Jane Doe


Amazon Customer 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Beckett

December 7th, 2018

Beckett is fabulous. Another good read about Beckett and the people he has helping him to solve a mystery. Hopefully there is another Beckett book being written!


John J. Rhodes 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Enjoyed yet another ride with Beckett and O’Conner. Beckett is a unique, interesting character and he and O’Conner make a great team. Thanks again for another good read.

May 12th, 2019

Enjoyed yet another ride with Beckett and O’Conner. Beckett is a unique, interesting character and he and O’Conner make a great team. Thanks again for another good read.


Jane Sheraw 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Who is Jane Does and why was she on the Bay Bridge?

December 5th, 2019

D. G. Baxter's books just keep getting better and better. The varied venues, the twisting and unexpected plot lines, and the authentic characters make for a book that keeps the reader intrigued and engaged. The main character, Jack Beckett, is an unusual, independent and honorable man who doesn't mind taking less honorable measures as needed. In this book, Beckett is determined to find out about the circumstances that led to a chance meeting and the ultimate death of a woman identified as Jane Doe. Beckett and his FBI cohort Riley O'Connor once again team up only to find more than they expected as they search for answers.
I can't even imagine what lies ahead for Beckett, but I certainly am looking forward to finding out.


Marlene King-Penny 4.0 out of 5 Stars

You know who is good, who is bad, and who is going to win. Even so, the ride is so very enjoyable!

May 24th, 2019

I am becoming very fond of Beckett and his band of “Merry Men and Women”. This is a series I look forward to getting a cup of coffee, settling in my comfy chair and reading about what Beckett has been up to since his last adventure. The pace is good, the adventure is compelling, and the characters are interesting. I am anxiously awaiting the next romp of the good guy.


seventybob 4.0 out of 5 Stars

Beckett- the guy you'd want in your corner.

December 5th, 2018

Another great Jack Beckett adventure. Beckett is one of those “hero’s who wouldn’t call himself a hero” kind of guy. Devastated because he couldn’t save Jane Doe, he vowed to find out who and why. Good read.


Walter Woyden 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Another great addition to the BEckett saga.

December 7th, 2018

In book seven of the Jack Beckett saga, we learn more about what motivates Beckett in his crusade against injustice. When he was ten years old, his childhood friend committed suicide by walking in front of a train. Abuse at the hands of her father caused her to take her own life, and Beckett carried that regret with him throughout his life. When he attempts and fails to prevent another young woman from taking her own life, he sets out to find the woman's identity and what drove her jump off of the Bay Bridge. His good friend, FBI Agent Riley O'Conner joins him on the dark journey that takes him into the world of kidnapping, prostitution and sniff films that ultimately leads to the most evil psychopath he's ever encountered, Clarence Montgomery III. As in his previous novels, Baxter provides a rich backdrop of interesting supporting characters, from Brian Jones, the brother of Jane Doe, to Saudi Prince Mohammed Abdullah, who has a powerful addiction to watching young women murdered. Baxter keeps the reader hooked with plot twists and unexpected turns of events until the final pages of the novel. "Jane Doe" is another first class addition to the Beckett saga and leaves this reader looking forward to Book Eight.


KC 5.0 out of 5 Stars

A great read...

December 5th, 2018

Another great Beckett adventure - hard to put down!


Davidthea 5.0 out of 5 Stars

What a great read

April 12th, 2019

First time reader of author D. G. Baxter. I really liked this novel and the main character of Jack Beckett. An outstanding read. Don’t know why I started on book 7, but I have a lot of catching up to do. Mr. Baxter, thanks!


The Cable Car Killer


GMR 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Beckett is the Best

February 22nd, 2019

I’m never quite as thrilled as on the arrival of a new Beckett book!! The characters are the best bar none. The only thing better would be more and longer stories. Can’t wait for the next!!!! GMR


valerye hasselman 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Has characters you can get into.

February 22nd, 2019

I loved how the book started, telling how different kinds of people can pick their next victims. Doesn’t give away who done it. Great read.


Amazon Customer 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Beckett

February 21st, 2019

Beckett has done it again. A very good read. Mr. Baxter has done a wonderful job with this book. I am hooked on his books.


Linda Susan Fowler 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Love the characters

June 4th, 2019

The stories get better and better. I have all nine books. I hope he continues to write more. On to the last one


Kindle Customer 5.0 out of 5 Stars

couldn't put it down!

February 26th, 2019

Wish it could have been longer! great book,


Karl H 5.0 out of 5 Stars

A nuts and bolts crime novel, nothing superhuman, just good police work

May 14th, 2019

Mr. Baxter leads the reader thru a classic crime investigation. This novel gives insight into the nuts and bolts of investigating a crime, or series of crimes. The reader has the advantage of watching from both perspectives (the perpetrator and the policeman). No super human feats, nothing unbelievable, just good, old-fashioned police work.


Marlene King-Penny 4.0 out of 5 Stars

This is where the bad guys are bad and the good guys are good...and good always wins.

May 14th, 2019

Each installment in the Beckett adventure gets better and better. The author’s protagonist a true good guy, the story is believable, the pace is great, and the ride the author takes the reader on is just fun. I am eagerly awaiting the next journey.


Steve W 4.0 out of 5 Stars

Beckett is the best!

February 22nd, 2019

Jack Beckett is a fantastic character and once again he is drawn into a murder mystery right here in my own backyard. This book hits all the stops for me. The writing does not sacrifice character depth or a solid intelligent plot line in service to action adventure. First rate kick-ass action and unflinching realism. What a great series these books make, and can’t wait for the next one.


Seven Days in August


Jeff Benham 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Boldly going where others fear to tread.

May 31st, 2019

Beckett has really stepped in it this time. A domestic terrorist group so stupid they think they can take over the country, and they just might do it. It is not just one group, it is several and they plan on hitting top dog government officials simultaneously. Basically, they are the weapon and they are being extremely well funded. In Jack's neck of the woods, two FBI agents have gone undercover and turned up missing. Not one to pass up a chance to get shot at, Beckett is sent in. Will the 3rd time be the charm?


Kindle Customer 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Beckett is back!

May 25th, 2019

I like the Beckett adventures. They keep you entertained and the good guys always win. I enjoy the Beckett books and they are an engaging quick read. The plot here is certainly imaginable in our current times.


Davidthea 5.0 out of 5 Stars

A solid read

August 12th, 2019

Thank you Mr. Baxter for these outstanding reads with Jack Beckett (and Riley O’Connor) characters. Solid, solid read. Looking forward to #10 in these novels.


Valerye Hasselman 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Beckett's stories

August 1st, 2019

I love this character. I have read other books with his character, and they never disappoint me. Great writing. I can’t wait to read another one.


John J. Rhodes 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Great Character and plot.

July 24th, 2019

I have read all of D.G. Baxter’s books and love his writing. The Beckett character is becoming one of my all time favorites. Can’t wait for the next installment.


tom vaeger 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Can't wait for the next one.

June 4th, 2019

The new Jack Becket book is a real winner. Lots of action and as always a great ending. D. J. Baxter has done it again good job.


Marlene King-Penny 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Beckett verses White Spremacists

May 31st, 2019

This story was really well referenced. The Turner Diaries, those 14 words, and The Order, now that’s some really scary stuff and it’s real. The bad guys in this book were really bad, in fact, they were quite evil. My favorite new character in this book was the dog, Cujo. In my opinion, this is the best book yet in the Beckett series.


A Dangerous Mind


Kindle Customer 4.0 out of 5 Stars

Another good Beckett book.

August 26th, 2019

I like the Beckett books and always look forward to the next one. They are fast-paced, keep your interest, and have some unexpected twists. Beckett and O'Connor are very likeable protagonists and make a good team. If course, O'Connor isn't always involved, but in this book she is. The books where Beckett is working by himself are equally good. One of the things I enjoy about these books is that Beckett isn't a typical protagonist. He is wealthy enough to not be concerned about his expenses. But! He isn't a playboy. We don't have to hear about expensive restaurants, clothing, wines, or other drinks every few pages. This hero makes us feel good about him The problems Beckett is faced with are relevant and the books are interesting from beginning to end. The series doesn't have to be read in order to be enjoyed. None of the books end in cliffhangers, a huge plus for me.


Amazon Customer 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Another good Beckett read!

September 5th, 2019

As usual, I read it all almost without a break. I like it that the chapters are kept relatively short so I have breaking points to get another cup of coffee or glass of water and maybe a snack, but even then it is difficult to quit reading for that long.

I have grown to look forward to the next Beckett adventure!


Amazon Customer 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Beckett

August 25th, 2019

I am always impressed with Jack Beckett. He is a very believable character. These books don’t drag at all. Mr. Baxter has a flow to his writing. I would recommend this book to anyone that likes mysteries.


GMR 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Beckett Does It Again

August 25th, 2019

This is a totally awesome series. Beckett is just wonderful to follow on his incredible journeys and dealing with the worst elements imaginable. GMR


Linda Susan Fowler 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Exciting and character driven

August 25th, 2019

Thoroughly enjoying this Jack Beckett book. Number 10 in the series. I find these books addicting. Keep them coming DG Baxter.


Tom Yaeger 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Good read

August 25th, 2019

Another fast paced well written book by DG. Always a great read and worth the time and money. Time well spent.


Dodie K 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Amazing Book!

August 25th, 2019

As usual, this is a Beckett story that keeps you glued to the pages until you finish it! Every book has been awesome! Seriously, keeps you guessing to the end. Ready for the next one now! LOL


Bridget 5.0 out of 5 Stars

Another Enjoyable Adventure

August 25th, 2019

Great characters and plots. Looking forward to the next installment.